

2024-2025 CONSTANTINE PANUNZIO DISTINGUISHED EMERTI AWARD RECIPIENTS

BERKELEY . DAVIS . IRVINE . LOS ANGELES . MERCED . RIVERSIDE . SAN DIEGO . SAN FRANCISCO . SANTA BARBARA . SANTA CRUZ

ABOUT THE AWARD

CONSTANTINE PANUNZIO (1884 -1964) was a professor of sociology at UCLA from 1931 until his retirement in 1952. It is largely due to Professor Panunzio that the UC emeriti owe the present pension system, established by The Board of Regents after they received a six-page memorandum from Professor Panunzio. Edward A. Dickson, who was Chairman of The Board of Regents at the time (1954), described Professor Panunzio as the architect of the UC Retirement System. Thus, during the last dozen years of his life, Professor Panunzio was instrumental in bringing about a substantial increase in the stipends of colleagues already retired at the UC, in improving the retirement system at UC, and in discovering what the situation was for other retirees at institutions throughout the United States by launching a nationwide emeriti census in 1954.

YEAR	CAMPUS	RECIPENT	DEPARTMENT
1983/84	UCB	Jean Brody	Art History
1985-94	Dormant		· · · · · ·
1994/95	UCLA	Gary Nash	History
1995/96	UCSD	Avrum Stroll	Philosophy
1996/97	UCSB	Garrett Hardin	Biological Sci. & Environ. Studies
1997/98	UCI	Renee R. Hubert	English & Comparative Literature
1998/99	UCLA	Norman Thrower	Geography
10.00/00	UCLA	Eugen Weber	History
1999/00	UCD	Emmy Werner	Human & Community Dev.
2000/01	UCB	S. Leonard Syme	Epidemiology
2000/01	UCSC	Hayden White	History of Consciousness
2001/02	UCI	Ruth Kluger	German
	UCLA	Ralph H. Turner	Sociology
2002/03	UCD	Sarah Hrdy	Anthropology
2003/04	UCB	Gene Hammel	Demography
	UCLA	Robert Stevenson	Musicology
2004/05	UCSF	Virginia Olesen	Social & Behavioral Sciences
2005/06	UCI	David Easton	Political Science
2006/07	UCSB	Roberto O. Collins	History
2006/07	UCSC	G. William Domhoff	Sociology
2007/08	UCSB	Wallace Chafe	Linguistics
2007/08	UCI	Robert Hine	History
2008/09	UCLA	Daniel Walker Howe	History
2008/09	UCSC	Thomas F. Pettigrew	Psychology
2009/10	UCSC	Harry Berger Jr.	Literature
2009/10	UCSD	Arend Lijphart	Political Science
2010/11	UCSC	Elliot Aronson	Psychology
	UCI	Hillis Miller	English & Comparative Literature
2011/12	UCSB	Thomas Scheff	Sociology
	UCI	R. Duncan Luce	Cognitive Sciences & Economics
2012/13	UCLA	Frederick Burwick	English
	UCSC	Michael Nauenberg	Physics
2013/14	UCSD	Norman Anderson	Psychology
	UCI	Rein Taagepera	Political Science
2014/15	UCB	Elizabeth Colson	Anthropology
	UCSC	Pavel Machotka	Psychology



2024-2025 CONSTANTINE PANUNZIO DISTINGUISHED EMERTI AWARD RECIPIENTS

BERKELEY . DAVIS . IRVINE . LOS ANGELES . MERCED . RIVERSIDE . SAN DIEGO . SAN FRANCISCO . SANTA BARBARA . SANTA CRUZ

YEAR	CAMPUS	RECIPIENT	DEPARTMENT
2015/16	UCD	Isao Fujimoto	Community & Regional Dev.
2015/16	UCSC	Peter Kenez	History
2016/17	UCB	Neil Smelser	Sociology
2010/17	UCI	Margot Norris	English & Comparative Literature
2017/18	UCLA	Henry Ansgar Kelly	English
2017/18	UCSD	Sandy Lakoff	Political Science
2018/19	UCB	Robert Alter	Hebrew & Comparative Literature
2018/19	UCLA	Lynn Hunt	History
2010/20	UCLA	Herbert Morris	Philosophy & Law
2019/20	UCSF	Carroll Estes	Sociology
2020/21	UCR	Carlos Cortés	History
2020/21	UCSD	Wayne Cornelius	Political Science
2021/22	UCLA	Judith F. Baca	Chicana/o & Central Amer. Studies/ World Arts & Cultures
	UCSC	John Brown Childs	Sociology
2022/22	UCI	Raul Fernandez	Chicano//Latino Studies
2022/23	UCSF	Charlene Harrington	Nursing
	UCLA	Brian Copenhaver	Philosophy
2023/24	UCD	Suad Joseph	Anthropology/Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies
	UCSC	Diane Gifford-Gonzalez	Anthropology
2024/25	UCSB	Howard Giles	Communication